diy: framed vintage keys

A month or so ago, I saw vintage styled keys in the $1-$2 bins at Michaels and knew immediately what I wanted to do with them! Frame ’em!

This DIY project is super easy and can be made under $10 (depending on the frame you use).  The vintage keys were $1.50 each and my frame was from Home Goods (gotta love that store!). I looked around my local crafts and scrapbook stores and could not find burlap scrapbook paper (didn’t want to buy fabric) so I decided to use a textured scrapbook paper.

MAKE IT! You will need:

  • Vintage keys
  • Frame (I used 8×10)
  • Scrapbook paper cut to the size of your picture frame (at least big enough for your frame size. I bought a 12×12 sheet and cut it down to 8×10)
  • Thread in similar color as your keys
  • Needle
  • Tape
  • Glue (I used Tombow Mono Multi Liquid Glue)
  • Pencil

1 – LAY IT OUT. Figure out how you want your keys laid out. Take a step back and see how it looks. Like it? Great and move onto step 2. If not, switch it up until you like it.

2 – MARK DOTS. Using your pencil, lightly mark where the thread will enter and exit the paper to wrap around each key. I would suggest sewing adjacent to the rings of the key (easier to conceal the thread) and doing so at one ring near the top of the key and one near the bottom. This will make your key more secure against the paper.

3 – SEW. Before sewing, from the front side of your paper, use your needle to poke the pencil marks you made.  Then sew from behind the paper. Tie a knot behind the paper once you’ve wrapped your key with the thread.

4 – TAPE AND/OR GLUE. To secure the thread, I taped it down on the back side of the paper. My bottom right key did not have multiple rings to sew around so I used my glue to secure it onto the paper. If you’re using glue, I would advise letting it dry at least 24 hours.

Linked up at: Alderberry Hill | I Heart Nap TimeEtcetorize | DIY Show Off | Homemaker In Heels | My 1929 Charmer | Along for the Ride | Tatertots & Jello 

7 thoughts on “diy: framed vintage keys

  1. This is really awesome. I have an affinity for vintage keys, and this may be a good way to avoid buying them by the dozens and having them just jangling around!

  2. Ooooo LOVE vintage keys and still don’t have any! This is a great idea…might have to try it! I was linked next to you over at TT&J…no coincidence! ;)

    • the vintage keys at michaels are hit or miss. i tried looking for more the other day and couldn’t find any! hopefully you find them! you may have to go to a vintage/antique store! :)

  3. I’m so glad I found this idea on Etcetorize’s link party. I had snagged a few vintage keys in the dollar section of Michaels and was thinking of putting them in a similar set up. I love your idea and will use it for inspiration. Megan

  4. So I did almost exactly the same thing last year, but with fabric. The big, stupid difference is that I kept the glass in the frame. Why? Because for some reason, it just didn’t occur to me not to. I had to limit what keys I used based on which ones wound fit. Silly me. I’m so redoing it sans glass and adding the big, chunky key I wanted in the first place : ) Thanks for making me aware of my silly mistake.

Leave a Comment

