fyi: crockpot chicken enchilada soup

It rained in SoCal today and you know what that means? It means I don’t have to water my plants!! Haha :) While that is true, it also means it’s perfect weather for a crockpot meal. Hubby’s favorite soup is Chicken Tortilla so I thought I’d surprise him with his favorite soup. I LOVE soup so I’ve made chicken tortilla soup a couple times now, each a little different from the previous one. But I think I found the perfect recipe! How do I know? Hubby’s bowl was completely empty…not a trace of soup left!

As part of my new year’s cooking resolution, I found the recipe on Pinterest. Minus not having bell pepper on hand (which is usually never the case), I followed the recipe exactly and was quite pleased with the results. I’m not too big on creamy soups so next time I’ll cut back on the milk (even though I only used 1.5 cups versus the 2 cups it calls for). Also, you can make this recipe with frozen chicken. I put the frozen pieces of chicken and after 90 mins, I came back and separated the chicken (they were frozen together) so that they cook evenly.

My favorite part of this recipe is…making roux for the first time! The flour and butter mixture was so easy to make and I think that really made the difference in this soup versus the ones I made in the past. I can’t wait to try using roux in other soups! :)

One thought on “fyi: crockpot chicken enchilada soup

Leave a Comment

