diy: desktop advent calendar

It’s December 1st and that means it’s time to count down the days until Christmas! So, how about making an advent calendar with a personal twist?! :)

Quick instructions:

  1. Remove the glass/mat from the frame
  2. Cut the foam board to fit the frame. Adhere scrapbook paper onto the foam board. Insert it into the frame. Secure the frame.
  3. Cut 25 mini squares for each day (Dec 1 – 25) using fun/colorful paper. I chose two paper. Each square is 1.4″ x 1.4″.
  4. Size your photos to 1.4″ x 1.4″ and adhere them onto the back of the mini scrapbook paper squares.
  5. If you use long pins like I did (couldn’t find shorter pearlized pins), you will need to cut it b/c the foam board isn’t very thick. I used a wire cutting tool.
  6. On each square, I used my Crop-a-dile to punch my eyelets. You definitely don’t have to use eyelets…it just looks cuter and a little more polished!
  7. Start pinning from the bottom (Dec 21 – 25) and work your way up. 5 squares per row.
  8. Once you’ve pinned all the squares, feel free to decorate the top however you like…and you’re done!!

Each small square represents a day (Dec 1 – 25) and on the back of each square is a picture of friends and family. Although I picked 25 photos for my 25 small squares, I didn’t memorize where I placed them on the 5 x 5 grid of squares. So, it’s still a surprise when I flip each day’s square over! :)

I’ve taken the calendar to work and placed it on my Christmas shelf (see below)!

SUPPLIES:
Frame:
Ikea RIBBA frame in Dark Brown (8 3/4″ x 11″)
Foam Board:
Elmer’s Foam Board (3/16″ thick)
Paper:
Basic Grey 12×12 Paper Collection Pack – Eskimo Kisses (Village and Finial)
Cut-out Letters: Provo Craft Cuttlebug Letters
Embellishments: Recollection dimensional stickers from Michaels. American Crafts Eyelets in Gold (3/16″). Stickles Glitter Glue – Crystal
Pins: Dritz Pearlized Pins in Red

 

4 thoughts on “diy: desktop advent calendar

Leave a Comment

