diy: scrapbook layouts

My gift to my dad-to-be coworker and mom-to-be friend was a scrapbook to remember all the special moments with their bundle of joy. I knew the mom-to-be enjoyed scrapbooking so I thought I’d get her a head start on her baby scrapbook album, especially since she probably won’t have much time to work on it. Any free time she’ll have will be spent catching up on sleep!

It turned out quite lovely and I’m pretty happy with it! I did not fill the entire album so that she can make some of her own pages. In one of the last pages, I kind of created a mini-kit and threw in extra 8×8 background paper, leftover stickers and embellishments. I know baby mama will want to spend her money on diapers since scrapbooking can get costly!

I was recently asked how to get started on creating scrapbook pages. Well, aside from having the right materials and supplies, you should have layouts in mind. This will save you time and frustration (ever stared at a page wondering what to do?! Been there, done that). Below are a couple of the layouts I used to create the pages in the baby scrapbook. I hope they help!

Some pointers:

  • The grey in the layout resembles your background paper, which can be solid or patterned.
  • The square orange shapes are where to put your photos.
  • The other orange shapes are other decorative items to add to your page, like stickers, ribbon, etc.
  • I would strongly recommend backing your photos with a “frame”. So, let’s say your photo is 3×3, I would make your backing 0.25-0.5″ wider so it would be 3.25×3.25 or 3.5×3.5. The backing really frames your photo so that it stands out from the background paper.
  • Leave some space in the album as maybe you’ll want to add some personal sentiments, like the hospital bracelet, a greeting card, etc.
  • A quick and easy way to create dimension is by using foam dimensional pads. Go easy on these; otherwise you might have trouble closing your album! :)

Here’s the baby album!

Leave a Comment

