diy: purple people eater luminaries

Halloween is in one week (yeah-uh!!) so if you’re in a pinch for some spooky decor, here’s a super easy craft that is cute and fun to make, especially with children. This craft was inspired by the classic “Purple People Eater” song, which I could put on repeat forever!!

MAKE IT!
1 – You will need:

  • Purple paper bags
  • Paper (in white and black)
  • Scissors
  • Circle cutter
  • Cutting mat
  • Scrapbooking adhesive tape
  • Sand or small pebbles
  • Tealight candles

2 – EYES. There are two ways to make the monster’s eye. You can make them on the computer and print it out and cut the eye. OR you can be crafty and use a circle cutter to cut white and black circles. If you go this route, use the scrapbooking adhesive to tape the black circle onto the white circle.

3 – MOUTH. Cut out slits to make the mouth. I lightly bent the front face of the bag in half so that I can make the mouth in a few quick cuts. You could also use an exacto knife but don’t forget to put a piece of cardboard inside the paper bag so you don’t cut through to the back face. Though, I suppose your monster could have a face on both sides. :)

4 – TEETH. Using the white paper, cut small triangles to make fangs. Dab a small amount of adhesive tape on the base of the triangle and stick it on the inside of the bag’s front face. Be goofy and give one of ‘em an underbite!

5 – FINAL DETAILS. Fill the base of the paper bag with some sand or small pebbles. Set a tealight candle in the middle and light it! And you’re done!

 

 

49 thoughts on “diy: purple people eater luminaries

      • Yes, good idea! These would be a cute outside Halloween decoration too (maybe with something heavy to weigh the bag down). I have a feral cat colony outside my house too though, so there’s always a chance that a cat might destroy something I own, whether outside or in.

  1. I said Mr. Purple People Eater, what’s your line
    He said it’s eatin’ purple people and it sure is fine
    But that’s not the reason that I came to land
    I wanna get a job in a rock and roll band

    It was a one-eyed, one-horned, flyin’ purple people eater
    Sure looks strange to me

    LOVE IT! Thanks. :)

  2. these are super cute! i’m actually moving tomorrow, so i haven’t made any halloween decoration purchases. but i have a 2-year-old, and i’d love to have something festive for this weekend. this is just the ticket! cheap, easy, and disposable :) thanks for sharing!

  3. Those are cute. Reminds me of “buckets” we use during the Wesak festival in Sri Lanka. They of course are not so creative in their decoration and are quite basic but uses the same candle in a paper hollow concept.

  4. Way adorable! I am a purple fiend! Love it! My favourite things currently are my car which is a Ford XR6 (with an XR8) hood that is the colour of the Phantom’s (comic book dude) costume and my wedding shoes which are the same kind of purple.
    My first car was a little Purple Hyundai Excel and I called it the Purple People Eater :D

  5. Wow…this is so neat! Such a great idea- that I will have to try it- maybe with orange paper bags to match my theme. Thanks for sharing!
    Hope to see more such crafts from you.

  6. I love Halloween time on WordPress — they always Freshly Press a few amazing ideas, and yours is definitely worthy of the attention!

    Fun, adorable, and inexpensive … it doesn’t get much better than all that!

    :)

  7. Cute idea. It would also work as a Halloween costume if you find a big purple box to use. I’ve noticed that people who make their costumes out of cardboard boxes always win the contests.

  8. Pingback: Saturday Seven (No. 28) | Positively Splendid {Crafts, Sewing, Recipes and Home Decor}

  9. Pingback: Classroom Halloween Party - My Weekly Habit

Leave a Comment

